Biden adds New York to areas eligible for disaster fund after Ida disaster

Biden adds New York to areas eligible for disaster fund after Ida disaster

A man watches a car in flood water after the rain, flash floods and tornadoes brought torrential rains, flash floods and tornadoes to parts of the northeast in Mamaronek, New York on September 2, 2021.

Mike Seger | Reuters

President Joe Biden added New York to the list of major disaster areas from the devastation of Hurricane Ida last week.

The move, announced Monday, freed up federal disaster funds to help areas affected by the storm, which swept through the northeast from September 1-3, dumping an average of 3.1 inches per hour and causing dozens dead.

In a similar announcement on Sunday, Biden also declared New Jersey a disaster area. Ida is said to have killed at least 27 people there and four people are still missing.

The president is expected to travel to Manville, New Jersey and Queens on Tuesday to see Ida’s damage and various recovery efforts.

One of the most powerful storms to ever hit the United States, Ida struck Louisiana in the first half of the week before moving north and wreaking havoc in several states.

According to, a tracking site, about 530,000 Louisianans were without power as of Monday morning.

New York Governor Kathy Hochul estimated that Ida caused more than $ 50 million in damage to the state.

The White House said Biden’s decision would allow counties in the Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond and Westchester to become unaided. Assessments are also underway in other regions and counties.

Be a smart investor with CNBC Pro.
Access stock picks, analyst calls, exclusive interviews and CNBC TV.
Sign up to start a free trial today.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here